Lie To Me (book review)

white ceramic teacup with saucer near two books above gray floral textile
Photo by Thought Catalog on Pexels.com

As I mentioned in my update post yesterday I borrowed yet another book from my mom. The book I borrowed is titled Lie To Me by J.T. Ellison. This time though my mom was not able to give me her opinion first on whether or not she liked it. Which is something she will usually do if she reads a book before I do. And here is my review on this book. And yes I read this book in two days.

As I started reading it I couldn’t help but notice similarities between Gone Girl and Lie To Me. But those weren’t as bad as I thought it was going to be. Let me just say even with the similarities in the beginning the middle and the end are FAR different from Gone Girl. There was one issue I had and that was the language of the law enforcement, too many big words. The police officers I know do not use sophisticated words that were used in the book.

I could not put this book down for long periods of time though! Many times throughout reading it I would exclaim “wow”, “oh my god” and “I did NOT see that coming” so much TL finally asked me what I was talking about. Lol.

There were twists and turns in all the right places and just when you thought Ms. Ellison couldn’t come up with any more twists BAM! She hits you right in the eyes with the most amazing twists of all!

Kudos to you Ms. Ellison your book did for me what Gone Girl failed miserably at. It shocked me and in the end I was delighted. This is definitely a book I will buy for my own personal library. And I will most assuredly search out other book written by this author.

I recommend this book to anyone who was let down by Gone Girl in a heartbeat. If you haven’t read this book already search it out and make sure you read it.

Coming up on the blog:

I am getting some posts scheduled that feature more of my poetry while I work on my own book. I will also schedule some random posts or thoughts as often as I can. And when my cousin is ready for me to post his work I’ll schedule those in as well.

TL is getting excited about the possibility my book will be published. She has a shopping list already of things she would like me to get for her. Which I most likely will get some of the things on her list. But not everything. She has been having a few issues with spelling at school that I have been trying to help her with at home. I just need to find her best learning style and run with it.

Have a great September!

Leave a comment